Diablo, Minecraft, and SWTOR (oh my)

Discussions of games for Xbox 360, Nintendo DS, PC, Mac and other platforms.
erilar

Diablo, Minecraft, and SWTOR (oh my)

Post by erilar »

Topic the First: Diablo III
Curious who of you will be jumping in (PC and Mac only)? I'm very in.

Topic the Second: Minecraft?

I started playing Terraria a bit last night - basically a retro 2D game similar to Minecraft (and Zack and friends' current obsession). This got me wondering if any of you are Minecraft-curious?

Minecraft will run on pretty much any computer (PC and Mac players can play together). Zack and I already have a dedicated server, so we can host. Or, it also just came out on XBLA last night if that reaches more individuals. I've played a decent amount with Zack and friends, and it can be very fun and even a little zen.

The game is very sandbox-y. While there are enemies to defend against, and a few "end-game" monsters to eventually tackle, there isn't a lot of "game" there. No quests or story. Instead, the game is largely about exploring, carving a home out of the wilderness, and then crafting and building cool stuff. So, it might not last us like a big-budget game, but we also don't have all that much time to play together on weeknights.

The game has a very strong Lego vibe. You start out in the middle of a randomly-generated world, with no tools. It's daytime, but the sun will eventually go down, and that's when the monsters come out. So you'd best find/create some shelter before that happens. The random world features a number of different surface biomes, and then there are random caves, caverns, mines, etc. underground. My favorite passtime is "delving too deeply", as Gandalf would say. :)

Plus, building bigger houses. Or castles. Or secret underground mountaintop lairs. And better weapons, armor, and tools - so you can dig even deeper and build even better stuff.

Topic the Third: TOR